INTERNATIONAL BETTA CONGRESS

Hello from Los Angeles, CA!

We encourage new members to introduce themselves here. Get to know one another and share your interests.

Moderators: admin, Forum Moderator

Hello from Los Angeles, CA!

Postby hrutan » Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:51 pm

Hello everyone, nice to meet you all.

I am a librarian in the Los Angeles area, who got innocently sucked into betta keeping when we decided to get a library fish to celebrate Summer Reading - we had an animal theme this year. Somehow "our" betta fish became my sole responsibility - probably because I've discovered an intense passion for betta fish, and enjoy caring for them and working on the aquariums. He managed to live through the first couple of weeks of mishandling until I learned how to properly care for him, and is thriving now in a 5g, filtered, heated tank with java ferns and moss balls. The little troublemaker tail bites sometimes, and I've yet to find out his trigger...

This is Mr. Kitty, the library fish:

Mr. Kitty was joined by two others - a pet store impulse buy, and a rescue fish.

Here is Buttercup, my desk buddy. He is housed in a 3 gallon, heated tank on my desk at work. I plan on adding a small sponge filter next time I get paid. This is not a current picture. He showed some very impressive leaping ability...by jumping over a divider and into Mr. Kitty's tank. Mr. Kitty shredded him before someone called me to intervene. Buttercup is in good health, with no signs of stress or fin rot, and the damaged fins are regrowing nicely. Mr. Kitty didn't have a mark on him... :shock: